Adelong is the heritage gateway to the Snowy Mountains nestled on the banks of the Adelong Creek. It’s verandah-lined main street is classified by the National Trust (NSW) with some buildings dating back to the gold rush era of the 1800’S. The nearby heritage listed industrial site Adelong Falls Gold Mill Ruins experience is not to be missed, boasting a remarkable collection of stone ruins, the remains of the Reefer quartz crushing mill.
So if it is skiing, fishing, bush walking, gold panning, canoeing, festivals, markets, horse riding, rodeos, or just a leisurely drive through the hills, then come to Adelong, the perfect spot to base your Tumut Region getaway.
We have re-furnished the Bed and Breakfast from beds to light fittings and have tried to maintain a balance between the world of a 1926 building, and modern contemporary requirements for comfort and practical need.
The ongoing restoration and repairs will slowly redress the years of neglect and return Beaufort House to a showpiece of “Historic Adelong”.
First established in 1864, business was booming during the “Gold Rush” days and in 1864 business had expanded with the Commercial Hotel (the first licensed hotel in Adelong) opening its doors along side the Commercial Store.
Business and trade boomed through the many years of gold mining, and then during the early 1920’s a large part of Adelong was destroyed by fire taking the old Commercial Store with it.
In later years it then became the “Gold Reef Hotel” which continued trading as a pub and hotel until the sale of its license in 1978.
The “Gold Reef Hotel” was renamed “Beaufort Guesthouse” and again was renamed Beaufort House.
From the Museum
“During the early 1920’s a large part of Adelong was destroyed by fire and in 1926 the Commercial Hotel (which was next door) was rebuilt as the existing 2-storey structure, in later years it then became the “Gold Reef Hotel”.
There are reminders of yesteryear throughout the building with the frosted “CH” Commercial Hotel symbol on the window panes. Many a local have expressed “if only these walls could talk”. The “Gold Reef Hotel” was renamed “Beaufort Guesthouse”.